Using the new iPad for Real Estate

I love my new iPad even more than I thought I would. I didn’t wait for today’s release of the 3G version.  I’ll buy that one too! But since I got a head start using my iPad in real estate, here are my favorite Apps and uses:

1. Open House.
Load the flier on your iPad as a photo jpeg and then just hand people your IPad when they come in the front door. They can review the flier and then swish the screen to see photos of other homes available.

2. Presentations.
Load your Listing Presentation on your IPad. I never used a laptop for a Listing Presentation because of the typical technical delays and difficulties. I pad is perfect for this as it is less intrusive and easier to access. Turn your Presentation into jpeg so you can swish through it.  When you’re ready to get fancy, get the Keynote App to create presentations.

3. Maps.
Makes it easy to find any address… full screen. Or show a Buyer and overview of the neighborhood, city, country, globe, etc.

4. Video.
Mix up your Listing Presentation by easily switching to any video you have posted on YouTube. Show virtual tours of homes to Buyers.

5. Photos.
Show homes on the crisp clear screen. Pinch to zoom in on the home’s features.

6. Penultimate
Nice scratch pad. Write with your finger, erase with your finger, or save the note in a notebook.

7. IBuyHomes
Nice worksheet for Buyers to calculate how much home they can afford. Investor sheet, home search, and easy to email worksheets.

8.  Zillow Search for Homes
Simply a MUST!  Scroll around the map and properties show up on the split screen

9.  Drum Meister
This app has nothing to do with real estate, except it’s a good way to keep children entertained while you’re talking with their parents.

If you’re waiting for later versions, you’ll miss the WOW factor of showing clients you’re ahead of the tech curve.  Right now, your iPad might be the only one people have seen.  So it’s a great way to connect with people and impress them with your use of technology.   I bought one without 3G because I’m usually in the office.

iPad makes it easier to make the transition to paperless transactions.  We’re equipping our team with iPads, Docusign, and Online Transactions.  Clients can sign contracts with a tap on the screen, and then send them directly into the online transaction.

Tom Pelton – Prudential California Realty
Extraordinary Office Manager
April 29, 2010

tom.pelton@mailpcr.com

Leave a comment